From Aryan Vatsa | Product & Market Analysis
AI Agent Sandbox Pricing: 1,000 Sessions on E2B, Daytona, Modal and Vercel
On this page
One thousand ten-minute agent sessions on a 2 vCPU, 4 GiB machine cost $27.60 on E2B and exactly $27.60 on Daytona, because the two publish identical per-second rates. The same workload costs $39.66 on Modal. On Vercel it costs anywhere from $18.40 to $56.80, depending on how hard your agent works the CPU. Choosing an AI agent sandbox is therefore less about the rate card and more about what your agent does while it waits.
Key takeaways
- E2B and Daytona charge the same compute rates to the decimal. Both publish $0.000014 per vCPU-second and $0.0000045 per GiB-second, so a 2 vCPU, 4 GiB session costs $0.0276 per ten minutes on either.
- Modal sandboxes cost 3x Modal's own list price. Modal bills sandboxes at non-preemptible rates, $0.00003942 per physical core-second, which puts 1,000 ten-minute sessions at $39.66 on our fixed spec.
- Vercel Sandbox is the only one of the four that bills CPU on activity. Below roughly 32% CPU utilisation it undercuts E2B and Daytona on this workload, and above roughly 60% it costs more than Modal.
- The isolation boundary differs more than the price does. E2B and Vercel run Firecracker microVMs, Modal runs gVisor or a VM, and Daytona runs Linux containers by default with a VM class available.
Direct answer. For a 2 vCPU, 4 GiB AI agent sandbox running ten minutes, E2B and Daytona both cost $0.0276 per session at published rates. Modal costs $0.0397. Vercel Sandbox costs $0.0184 at 10% CPU activity and $0.0568 at full load, because it bills CPU only while code executes but bills memory for the whole session.
What an AI agent sandbox actually meters
A sandbox is a short-lived, isolated computer that your agent uses to run code it wrote itself. Coding agents need one to execute tests. Data agents need one to run pandas against a file a user uploaded. The point is that untrusted, model-generated code never touches your production hosts.
All four vendors in this comparison meter three things: CPU, memory and time. The difference lies in which of those three they multiply together. E2B, Daytona and Modal charge for allocated resources for every second the sandbox exists. Vercel charges memory for every second, but CPU only for the seconds when code is actually running.
That distinction sounds academic until you watch what an agent session does. Most of the wall-clock time in an agent loop is spent waiting for the model to respond. The sandbox sits idle while the LLM thinks, then runs a command for two seconds, then idles again. If you are already tracking how vendors meter the cost of a single agent task, the sandbox is the line item where idle time is most visible.
My position is simple. The headline rate on each vendor's pricing page is the least informative number in this category. The billing basis, allocated or active, decides the bill far more than a fraction of a cent per hour does.
The published sandbox rate card for four vendors
Every rate below was taken from the vendor's own pricing page or documentation on 30 October 2026. Hourly figures are converted from per-second rates, or the reverse, where a vendor publishes only one.
| Vendor | CPU rate | Memory rate | CPU billed on | Isolation technology |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| E2B | $0.000014 per vCPU-second ($0.0504 per hour) | $0.0000045 per GiB-second | Allocation, while running | Firecracker microVM, own kernel |
| Daytona | $0.0504 per vCPU-hour | $0.0162 per GiB-hour | Allocation, per second | Linux container by default, VM class available |
| Modal | $0.00003942 per physical core-second (1 core = 2 vCPU) | $0.00000667 per GiB-second | Higher of request or actual use | gVisor, or a VM runtime with its own kernel |
| Vercel Sandbox | $0.128 per active CPU hour (iad1) | $0.0212 per GB-hour provisioned | Activity only | Firecracker microVM |
Sources: E2B pricing page, Daytona pricing page, Modal pricing page and sandbox guide, Vercel Sandbox pricing and overview docs, all retrieved 30 October 2026. Daytona storage is free for the first 5 GiB, then $0.000108 per GiB-hour. E2B lists storage as free. Vercel rates apply to the default iad1 region only.
E2B and Daytona are price-matched
E2B's $0.000014 per vCPU-second is exactly Daytona's $0.0504 per vCPU-hour divided by 3,600. The memory rates match the same way. Whether that is coincidence or deliberate price-matching, the effect for you is that compute price cannot be the deciding factor between them.
The differences sit elsewhere. E2B charges a $150 monthly plan fee for its Pro tier and gives Hobby users a one-time $100 credit. Daytona lists no plan fee and includes $200 in free compute. Daytona also charges for storage above 5 GiB, which E2B does not.
Modal's sandbox premium is disclosed, not hidden
Modal publishes a list CPU rate of $0.0000131 per core-second for its general functions. Its pricing page then states plainly that sandboxes are billed at non-preemptible rates of 3x list price. A developer who reads only the headline function rate will underestimate the sandbox bill by two thirds.
Modal also prices per physical core, which it defines as 2 vCPUs. Converted, Modal's sandbox CPU costs about $0.071 per vCPU-hour against $0.0504 at E2B and Daytona. That is a 41% CPU premium on a like-for-like basis.
Vercel splits CPU from memory
Vercel's sandbox page lists Active CPU at $0.128 per hour and provisioned memory at $0.0212 per GB-hour. Each vCPU includes 2 GB of memory, so a 2 vCPU sandbox is always a 4 GB sandbox. You cannot buy a lean 2 vCPU, 1 GB box the way you can on E2B or Modal.
Isolation technology: microVM, gVisor or container
Price is the comparison everyone runs first. Isolation is the one that matters if your agent ever executes something hostile. A sandbox exists to contain code you did not write and cannot review, including code an attacker smuggled in through a prompt injection against your agent.
There are three broad isolation models in this group. Each puts the boundary between your sandbox and its neighbours in a different place.
Firecracker microVMs: E2B and Vercel
E2B's homepage states that every session receives a hardware-isolated Firecracker microVM rather than a shared-kernel container. Vercel's documentation says each sandbox runs in a secure Firecracker microVM with its own filesystem and network. Firecracker is the virtualisation layer AWS built for Lambda. Each sandbox gets its own Linux kernel, so an escape requires breaking out of a hardware virtualisation boundary.
gVisor or VM: Modal
Modal's sandbox guide says sandboxes run on one of two runtimes. gVisor is a container runtime from Google that intercepts system calls in user space, so sandboxed code never talks to the host kernel directly. The second option runs the sandbox in a virtual machine with its own Linux kernel. If you leave the runtime parameter unset, Modal chooses for you, which means you should set it explicitly if your threat model depends on it.
Containers by default: Daytona
Daytona's documentation says sandboxes run as Linux containers by default, described as an isolated container with dedicated namespaces and enforced resource limits. A full virtual machine class with its own kernel is available, and Daytona ties pause, resume, fork and hot snapshots to that VM class. Containers share the host kernel. That is the faster and cheaper boundary, and it is also the thinner one.
I would not run untrusted, internet-facing agent code in a shared-kernel container if a VM option sits on the same account. The price difference between these vendors is pennies per thousand sessions. The cost of a container escape is not measured in pennies.
Pricing 1,000 agent sessions of a fixed length
To compare like for like, every vendor gets the same workload. Each session runs for 10 minutes, or 600 seconds of wall-clock time. Each sandbox has 2 vCPUs and 4 GiB of memory, which is E2B's stated default on its pricing page and Vercel's default of 2 vCPUs with 2 GB each. On Modal that is 1 physical core.
The working is shown so you can change any input. For E2B, the per-second cost is 2 times $0.000014 plus 4 times $0.0000045, which is $0.000046. Multiply by 600 seconds and you get $0.0276 per session, or $27.60 per 1,000.
| Vendor and scenario | CPU cost | Memory cost | Per session | Per 1,000 sessions |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| E2B | $0.0168 | $0.0108 | $0.0276 | $27.60 |
| Daytona | $0.0168 | $0.0108 | $0.0276 | $27.60 |
| Modal (1 core reserved) | $0.0237 | $0.0160 | $0.0397 | $39.66 |
| Vercel, CPU active 10% of session | $0.0043 | $0.0141 | $0.0184 | $18.40 |
| Vercel, CPU active 25% of session | $0.0107 | $0.0141 | $0.0248 | $24.80 |
| Vercel, CPU active 100% of session | $0.0427 | $0.0141 | $0.0568 | $56.80 |
Zan Digital calculation, 30 October 2026. Excludes plan fees, free credits, storage, data transfer and Vercel's $0.60 per million creations, which adds $0.0006 per 1,000 sessions. Vercel memory is quoted in GB and treated here as equal to GiB. Vercel active CPU is assumed to bill per vCPU-hour. Daytona's default 3 GiB disk sits inside its 5 GiB free storage allowance.
Every figure in that table is under $60 per thousand sessions. If your agent runs 1,000 sessions a month, the spread between the cheapest and most expensive scenario is $38.40. That is less than one engineer-hour at most companies, and far less than the model tokens consumed in those same sessions.
So my view is that most teams should not pick a sandbox vendor on price at this volume. Pick on isolation, limits and developer experience. Price starts to decide the choice around a million sessions a month, where the same spread becomes $38,400. At that scale it belongs in your enterprise agent cost model as a real line.
The utilisation crossover that decides Vercel sandbox cost
Vercel's bill has a fixed part and a variable part. Memory is provisioned for the whole session, so 4 GB for ten minutes costs $0.0141 no matter what. CPU costs $0.0427 per session if both vCPUs run flat out, and nothing if they sit idle.
That gives two break-even points on our workload. Vercel matches E2B and Daytona at about 32% CPU utilisation. It matches Modal at about 60%. Below 32%, Vercel is the cheapest of the four. Above 60%, it is the most expensive.
Where real agents tend to sit
No vendor publishes the CPU utilisation of a typical agent session, and I have no first-party measurement to offer. What can be said is structural. A coding agent that waits on a frontier model for most of each turn will spend most of its wall-clock time idle. A data agent running a long pandas job or a test suite will not.
That is why measuring your own workload matters more than reading this table. Instrument one sandbox for a day, log active CPU seconds against wall-clock seconds, and you will know which side of the 32% line you sit on. The same logic applies to inference provider rate cards, where the cheapest per-token price does not always produce the cheapest bill.
Modal's request floor changes the picture
Modal charges the higher of what you request and what you use. By default each sandbox requests only 0.125 cores and 128 MiB, and can burst beyond that when the host has spare capacity. If you keep the default request, an idle Modal sandbox costs about $3.46 per 1,000 ten-minute sessions at the floor. Modal then behaves like a usage-billed product, not a reservation.
The catch is the phrase about spare capacity. Bursting is not a guarantee. If your agent needs 2 vCPUs reliably, you reserve them and pay the $39.66 figure. Teams that accept occasional slowdowns can pay much less.
Limits that cost more than the per-second rate
Per-second rates get the attention. Session caps, concurrency ceilings and plan fees decide whether a vendor works for your agent at all. These are the limits published by each vendor on the pages reviewed.
| Vendor | Plan fee and credit | Max session length | Concurrent sandboxes | Startup claim |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| E2B | Hobby $0 with one-time $100 credit; Pro $150 per month | 1 hour Hobby, 24 hours Pro | 20 Hobby, 100 Pro (add-ons to 1,100) | No millisecond figure published; boots from snapshot |
| Daytona | No plan fee listed; $200 free compute | Not stated on pricing page | Not stated on pricing page | "Sub 90ms" creation, container class |
| Modal | Starter $0 with $30 per month credit; Team $250 per month with $100 credit | 5 minutes default, up to 24 hours | 100 Starter, 5,000 Team containers | Under one second |
| Vercel Sandbox | Hobby includes 5 CPU-hours and 420 GB-hours per month | 45 minutes Hobby, 24 hours Pro | 10 Hobby, 10,000 Pro | "Start in milliseconds", no figure |
Sources: vendor pricing pages and documentation retrieved 30 October 2026. Startup claims are each vendor's own marketing statements and were not independently tested. Vercel's Pro plan fee is not part of the sandbox pricing page and is excluded.
Free credits cover more sessions than you might expect
At our fixed spec, E2B's one-time $100 credit covers about 3,600 sessions. Daytona's $200 covers about 7,200. Modal's $30 monthly credit covers about 750 reserved sessions every month. Vercel's Hobby allowance is the tightest: at 25% CPU activity, its 5 included CPU-hours run out after about 60 sessions. For a prototype, the free tier usually matters more than the rate, a pattern covered in how free tiers meter compute.
Daytona claims sub-90ms creation for its container class. Modal claims under one second, including on large custom images. E2B and Vercel publish no millisecond figure on the pages reviewed. None of these claims comes with a stated methodology, region or image size, so ranking them would be false precision. Notice also that Daytona's fastest figure applies to containers, the thinner isolation boundary.
Where this comparison is weakest
A cost table this tidy hides several assumptions, and some of them could reverse a conclusion.
First, the 2 vCPU, 4 GiB spec suits E2B and Vercel because it is their default shape. Daytona's default sandbox is 1 vCPU and 1 GB, and Modal's default request is far smaller. A team that runs lean sandboxes would see E2B and Daytona fall to a fraction of $27.60, and Vercel cannot follow because it pairs 2 GB with every vCPU.
Second, E2B's own documentation disagrees with itself. The pricing page names 2 vCPUs and 4 GiB as the default, while its billing FAQ and SDK example use 512 MiB. If your template really runs at 512 MiB, your E2B bill is lower than shown here.
Third, the Vercel calculation assumes active CPU bills per vCPU-hour and treats GB as GiB. Both are reasonable readings of the documentation, and neither is stated in exactly those words. Vercel rates also apply only to the iad1 region, and other regions are priced differently.
Fourth, and most important, sandbox cost is a small share of total agent cost. Model tokens dominate almost every agent bill. A team that switches sandbox vendors to save $10 per thousand sessions, and in doing so adds latency that triggers extra model turns, can easily lose money. That trade-off is the same one behind the build versus buy decision for coding agents.
The competing view, that per-second price is the primary selection criterion, genuinely wins at very high volume with uniform workloads. A reinforcement learning team spinning up millions of identical sandboxes should optimise the rate. Most product teams are not that team.
Frequently asked questions
How much does an E2B sandbox cost per hour?
E2B charges $0.000014 per vCPU-second and $0.0000045 per GiB-second, billed only while the sandbox runs. A 2 vCPU, 4 GiB sandbox therefore costs about $0.166 per hour, or $0.0276 for ten minutes. Hobby has no plan fee and a one-time $100 credit. Pro adds a $150 monthly fee and extends sessions from 1 hour to 24 hours.
Is Daytona cheaper than E2B?
Not on compute. Daytona publishes $0.0504 per vCPU-hour and $0.0162 per GiB-hour, which equals E2B's per-second rates exactly. The differences are elsewhere. Daytona lists no plan fee and includes $200 of free compute, while charging for storage above 5 GiB. Daytona runs Linux containers by default, whereas E2B runs Firecracker microVMs, which is a stronger isolation boundary.
What is Modal sandbox pricing?
Modal bills sandboxes at non-preemptible rates of 3x its list price: $0.00003942 per physical core-second and $0.00000667 per GiB-second, where one physical core equals 2 vCPUs. You pay the higher of your resource request or actual use. A sandbox reserving 1 core and 4 GiB costs about $0.0397 for ten minutes. Starter includes $30 of monthly credit.
How is Vercel Sandbox priced?
Vercel Sandbox charges $0.128 per active CPU hour and $0.0212 per GB-hour of provisioned memory in the default iad1 region, plus $0.60 per million sandbox creations. CPU is billed only while code runs, but memory is billed for the whole session. Each vCPU includes 2 GB of memory. Hobby includes 5 CPU-hours and 420 GB-hours monthly, with a 45-minute session cap.
Which AI agent sandbox has the strongest isolation?
E2B and Vercel Sandbox both run each sandbox in a Firecracker microVM with its own kernel, per their documentation. Modal offers gVisor, which intercepts system calls in user space, or a full VM runtime. Daytona defaults to Linux containers sharing the host kernel, with a VM class available. For untrusted agent code, a microVM or VM boundary is the safer default.
Which AI agent sandbox is cheapest for 1,000 sessions?
It depends on CPU utilisation. For 1,000 ten-minute sessions at 2 vCPU and 4 GiB, E2B and Daytona each cost $27.60 and Modal costs $39.66 with resources reserved. Vercel costs $18.40 at 10% CPU activity and $56.80 at full load. Vercel is cheapest below about 32% utilisation and most expensive above about 60%.
Where to start
Measure one number before you compare any vendor: the share of each agent session your sandbox CPU is actually busy. Log active CPU seconds and wall-clock seconds for a day of real traffic. If the ratio is under a third, test Vercel Sandbox. If it is higher, E2B and Daytona will cost less on the same spec.
Then check the isolation setting you are actually running, not the one on the marketing page. On Modal, set the runtime parameter explicitly. On Daytona, decide whether untrusted code belongs in the VM class. Neither change costs anything to make, and both are easier before launch than after an incident.
Related on agent costs
Sandbox spend is one meter among several. For the bigger picture, read what an agent task costs across vendor meters and how AI cost of goods sold compresses gross margin.
References
- E2B, Pricing, retrieved 30 October 2026. Used for per-second rates, plan fees, credits, session caps, concurrency and default sandbox size. The billing FAQ at docs.e2b.dev/billing gives a conflicting 512 MiB default.
- E2B, Homepage, retrieved 30 October 2026. Used for the Firecracker microVM isolation statement.
- Daytona, Pricing, retrieved 30 October 2026. Used for vCPU, memory and storage rates, per-second billing and the $200 free compute credit.
- Daytona, Isolation documentation, retrieved 30 October 2026. Used for the container and VM sandbox classes. The sub-90ms claim and default sizes come from the Daytona homepage and sandboxes docs.
- Modal, Pricing, retrieved 30 October 2026. Used for sandbox CPU and memory rates, the 3x non-preemptible premium, plan fees, credits and concurrency.
- Modal, Sandboxes guide, retrieved 30 October 2026. Used for gVisor and VM runtimes and the 5-minute default and 24-hour maximum lifetime. Request defaults come from the sandbox resources guide.
- Vercel, Sandbox pricing and limits, retrieved 30 October 2026. Used for active CPU, memory and creation rates, Hobby allowances, session caps, concurrency and the 2 GB per vCPU ratio.
- Vercel, Sandbox overview, retrieved 30 October 2026. Used for the Firecracker microVM isolation statement and the startup claim.
Last verified 30 October 2026. The weakest part of this source base is that every figure is a vendor's own published rate or claim: no session costs or startup times were measured by Zan Digital, and the utilisation crossover depends on an assumption about how Vercel counts active CPU. Sandbox pricing changes often; re-check every rate before relying on it.
Related reading